Related Pages

County Government

The Kentucky Constitution of 1891 gave the name "Fiscal Court" to the body in each county that would act as that county's government. In Boone County, the Fiscal Court is composed of a County Judge/Executive and three County Commissioners. Each member of the Fiscal Court serves a 4-year term. The title "County Judge/Executive" is a blending of the past and the present, going back to the time when the person elected to this position also presided over judicial proceedings. Although those responsibilities were transferred to Kentucky's court system in 1978, the title remained. As chief executive officer for the County, the Judge/Executive presides over both the legislative and executive branches of County government. The other three members of Fiscal Court are the Commissioners, each representing one of three districts in the County.

In addition to the Fiscal Court, a number of other officials are elected and have very important roles in the functioning of County Government. These include the County Attorney, the Sheriff, the Jailer, the County Clerk and the Property Valuation Administrator. These officials, in addition to a number of other elected offices, represent the citizens of Boone County.


4 th

largest county



42 mi

of riverfront