Related Pages

About the Conservation District

The Boone County Conservation District is a Special Purpose Government Entity, organized under Kentucky Revised Statute 262 and is one of 121 Conservation Districts in Kentucky.  Kentucky Conservation Districts are subdivisions of state government but are not state agencies.  Conservation Districts are local units of government that work within county boundaries and are charged with carrying out programs for the conservation, use and development of soil, water, and other natural resources.

Conservation Districts are the primary entities to provide assistance to private landowners and land users in the conservation, sustainment, improvement and enhancement of Kentucky’s natural resources.  They are catalysts for coordinating and implementing conservation programs, channeling expertise from all levels of government and the community into action at the local level.  Programs are non-regulatory, science based technical assistance, incentive based financial programs and informational and education programs.

The Boone County Conservation District was established in 1942 following a referendum of the citizens of the county. Seven locally elected officials, who serve a four-year term without pay, govern the Conservation District.

The Conservation District makes technical and financial help available to reduce soil erosion, prevent water pollution, and maintain and improve the quality and productivity of our farmlands, forests, and other natural resources. Assistance is available to everyone in dealing with natural resources issues, including farmers, homeowners, businesses, schools, organizations, agencies, cities and local governments

Your conservation district works closely with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service and the KY Cabinet for Energy and the Environment. Elected board members of the Boone County Conservation District are:

  • Matt Wooten, Chairman
  • Rebecca Ortwein, Vice Chairman
  • Mike Wilson, Treasurer
  • Debra Waller, Supervisor
  • Jeff Thomas, Supervisor
  • Shannon Galbraith-Kent, Ph.D., Supervisor
  • Kathleen King, Supervisor


USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service staff :
Ian Young, Supervisory Natural Resource Manager

Division of Conservation
Linda Hunter, Field Representative
Kevin Bryan, Soil Conservationist

Kentucky Division of Conservation
#2 Hudson Hollow
Frankfort Kentucky 40601
Phone: (502) 564–2320



4 th

largest county



42 mi

of riverfront